Категория: Английский языкАнглийский язык




A season is a part of a year. Most areas of the Earth have
four seasons in a year: spring, summer, autumn (British
English) or fall (US English), and winter.
In some areas there are a different number of seasons.
For example, in the tropical parts of Australia (in the
northern parts of Queensland, Western Australia and the
Northern Territory), wet and dry seasons are also
observed. These are in addition to, or replace the regular
season names.
In places which are tropical and subtropical, there are two
seasons: the rainy (or wet, or monsoon) season and the dry
season. This is because the rain changes more than the


Summer is the hottest of the four temperate seasons, falling
after spring and before autumn. At the summer solstice, the
days are longest and the nights are shortest, with day-length
decreasing as the season progresses after the solstice. The
date of the beginning of summer varies according to climate,
tradition and culture. When it is summer in the Northern
Hemisphere, it is winter in the Southern Hemisphere, and


Autumn, also known as fall in American and Canadian
English, is one of the four temperate seasons. Autumn
marks the transition from summer to winter, in September
or March, when the duration of daylight becomes
noticeably shorter and the temperature cools down


Winter is the coldest season of the year in polar and
temperate zones (winter does not occur in the tropical
zone). It occurs after autumn and before spring in each year.
Winter is caused by the axis of the Earth in that hemisphere
being oriented away from the Sun.


Spring is one of the four conventional temperate seasons,
following winter and preceding summer. There are various
technical definitions of spring, but local usage of the term
varies according to local climate, cultures and customs.
When it is spring in the Northern Hemisphere, it will be
autumn in the Southern Hemisphere and vice versa. At the
spring equinox, days are approximately 12 hours long with
day length increasing as the season progresses.


English     Русский Правила